Getting A Grip

Having to come to terms that we will need IVF to conceive has been extremely difficult lately. I have always walked a fine line between extremely hopeful fertility treatments are going to work and severe fear that I might not ever experience pregnancy. Pretty sure my husband thinks I’m bat-shit crazy because I am constantly being cheerful and hopeful that “this is going to work” and then having huge crying fits on how I’ll never be pregnant.

I am sure all of this is normal, at least for us infertiles. To be completely 100% honest- I do believe IVF will work. I am young (30 is very young in fertility land) and the fact is that the only reason why I am having problems conceiving is my one lazy ass tube. IVF was made for tube issue ladies like myself, as it completely bypasses my issue. I think the only thing that is keeping me from IVF bliss (like that’s real, ha) is the financial aspect of it all. I am looking towards a 10k bill for all this, I am practically investing in a human.

I have brainstormed many ways to come up with this money (besides my savings and parents help) I am looking into egg donation (more on that later), putting together a fundraiser, like an online auction or a 5k run/walk. Car washes. Yardsales. And my last resort: M & I getting second jobs, just for a few months.

No matter what- I know this will work out. Everything that is meant to be will be and now that I have got the whole “why me” aspect out of the way, I think I can move forward and really put this into motion. Hopefully we’ll get some more useful information after we have our IVF consult with Dr. S in a week.

5

Leave a comment